PREVIEW — not indexed · drafts not fact-checked · images are placeholders

Litter-Robot Alternatives: Specs and Prices Compared

Non-Whisker self-cleaning litter boxes compared with the Litter-Robot 4 on price, cat weight range, design, litter type, waste capacity and app.

Updated Nov 2, 2026 5 min read 12 sources No paid placements
!
Draft. This page hasn't passed our independent fact-check yet.
i
We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page; it doesn't change what we list or how we describe it. Learn more.
On this page
  1. Price and cat weight range
  2. Design, litter and waste capacity
  3. App, size and warranty
  4. Recurring supplies
  5. Who each fits, by spec
  6. A note on PETKIT PuraMax 2
  7. Bottom line

Several self-cleaning litter boxes from other brands cost less than the Litter-Robot 4’s $699 list price. As of November 2, 2026, five non-Whisker models we track range from $269.99 to $549.99 list, and three of them were on sale for $379.99–$399.99 that day. They differ from the LR4 on several published specs: cat weight limit, open-top or enclosed design, litter type and waste capacity. The tables below use each maker’s own U.S. product pages.

Price and cat weight range

ModelPrice (2026-11-02)Cat weight range (maker)Cats claimed
Whisker Litter-Robot 4$699 list, no sale3–25 lbUp to 4
Neakasa M1 Plus$399.99 sale / $549.99 list2.2 lb to “around 33 lbs”Not stated (“multi-cat households”)
Neakasa M1 Lite Plus$379.99 sale / $499.99 list“around 2.2 lbs” to “around 33 lbs”Not stated (“multi-cat households”)
PETKIT Purobot Max 3$399.99 sale / $499.99 list3.3–22 lb; “cats 6+ months old”Not stated
PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin$399.99 list“up to 25 lb”Not stated
PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart$269.99 listNot stated; under 6 months, PetSafe says leave it unpluggedNot stated (“mileage may vary”)

The LR4 is the only model here whose maker gives a number of cats. Neakasa’s M1 models have the highest stated upper weight limit. PetSafe also sells a SmartSpin bundle (liners, deodorizers and a mat) that was listed at $379.99 on the check date, below the standalone box.

Design, litter and waste capacity

ModelDesignLitter (maker)Waste capacity (maker)
Litter-Robot 4Enclosed rotating globe; 15.75” x 15.75” entrywayClumping clay recommended; translucent/white crystals not recommendedEmpty “as low as once every 8 days” (no volume given)
Neakasa M1 PlusOpen top, rotating; 13.86” entry height“fast clumping mineral or bentonite clay”11.23 L, “up to 14 days” for one cat
Neakasa M1 Lite PlusOpen top, rotating; 13.86” entry heightClumping; “bentonite cat litter or mineral sand”11.23 L, about 14 days for one cat
PETKIT Purobot Max 3Enclosed rotating; 10.51” x 10.74” entry“99% of clumping litters including clay, tofu, corn, and bentonite”7 L, “up to 15 days” in a single-cat home
PetSafe SmartSpinEnclosed, “Spherical Design”; entry “just 12 in. from the ground”“any clumping or non-clumping litter”; premium clumping recommended6 L, “up to 2 weeks”
PetSafe Crystal SmartOpen tray with rake“crystal litter only,” in disposable traysTray “lasts up to 30 days” (PetSafe)

None of the non-Whisker brands publishes a drawer-emptying interval for more than one cat. Expect shorter intervals with more cats, but no maker gives a figure. For how the mechanisms differ, see sifting and rotating litter boxes and open-top vs enclosed.

App, size and warranty

ModelAppFootprint / size (maker)Warranty (maker)
Litter-Robot 4Yes; visits and cat weights, 7-day history22” x 27”, 29.5” tall1 year included; 3-year plan $129
Neakasa M1 PlusYes; usage tracking, scheduling22.83” W x 19.69” D x 26.83” H2-year limited
Neakasa M1 Lite PlusYes; litter level, multi-cat recognition, remote controlOverall size not published2-year limited
PETKIT Purobot Max 3Yes; multi-cat tracking24.4” W x 21.2” D x 21.7” H2 years for listed models bought on or after Jan 1, 2025
PetSafe SmartSpinYes; weight updates and usageNot publishedNot stated on page
PetSafe Crystal SmartYes; activity logs27.6 x 19.1 x 6.2 in (uncovered)Not stated on page

Each app’s features are described here as the maker states them. App weight and visit logs are records, not health checks. Talk to a veterinarian about any change you notice.

Recurring supplies

Recurring costs depend on what each box consumes:

  • Neakasa: replacement waste bags cost $19.99 for 30. Neakasa also says “you can use any bag that fits in the waste drawer.”
  • PETKIT: trash bags for the Purobot Max 3 and PuraMax cost $29.99 for 5 rolls of 20.
  • PetSafe Crystal Smart: it runs on disposable crystal trays, at $73.49 per 3-pack, and PetSafe says each lasts up to 30 days.
  • Whisker: liners cost $35 for 50 and carbon filters $30 for six. Whisker recommends replacing the filter monthly.

Litter is the variable cost the makers don’t quantify. Use the cost calculator with your own numbers.

Who each fits, by spec

These are spec-based fits only:

  • Litter-Robot 4: cats of 3–25 lb, and homes that want a maker-stated cat count (up to 4). It needs a 22” x 27” footprint and is the most expensive model here. Details on the Litter-Robot 4 page.
  • Neakasa M1 Plus / Lite Plus: cats up to “around 33 lbs,” the highest stated limit in this group, and owners who prefer an open top. Waste capacity is the largest listed here, at 11.23 L. The two versions share the same core specs. The Plus costs $20 more on sale and includes a litter mat. See Neakasa M1.
  • PETKIT Purobot Max 3: the widest litter list (tofu and corn included) and the shortest exterior height here (21.7”). Its upper weight limit is the lowest in the group, at 22 lb, and PETKIT says it is for cats 6 months and up.
  • PetSafe SmartSpin: the only model here whose maker says non-clumping litter can be used. It is rated up to 25 lb. PetSafe does not publish its dimensions.
  • PetSafe Crystal Smart: the lowest list price here. It uses crystal-litter trays instead of loose litter, so the recurring cost is the trays. See cheap self-cleaning litter boxes.

For more cats or bigger cats, see multiple cats and large cats.

A note on PETKIT PuraMax 2

PETKIT’s old PuraMax 2 and PuraMax web addresses now redirect to the Purobot Max 3 page. The Max 3 carries a different model number, and PETKIT does not say it is a renamed PuraMax 2, so we treat it as a separate model.

Bottom line

The non-Whisker models above list for $269.99 to $549.99 against the LR4’s $699, as of November 2, 2026. By published specs, the Neakasa M1 models offer the highest weight limit and an open top. The PETKIT Purobot Max 3 takes the widest range of clumping litters, the SmartSpin allows non-clumping litter, and the Crystal Smart has the lowest list price but runs on crystal trays. The Litter-Robot 4 is the only one in this group with a maker-stated cat count. Compare all of them in the comparison table.

+
Changes in your cat's litter box habits can be a sign of a health problem. If you notice changes, talk to your veterinarian.
Sources (12)
  1. Whisker — Litter-Robot 4 product page (checked 2026-11-02)
  2. Whisker — Litter-Robot comparison chart (checked 2026-11-02)
  3. Neakasa — M1 Plus product page (checked 2026-11-02)
  4. Neakasa — M1 Lite Plus product page (checked 2026-11-02)
  5. Neakasa — M1 Replacement Waste Bags (checked 2026-11-02)
  6. PETKIT — Purobot Max 3 product page (former PuraMax 2 URL redirects here) (checked 2026-11-02)
  7. PETKIT — Warranty policy (checked 2026-11-02)
  8. PETKIT — Trash bags for Purobot Max 3 / PuraMax (checked 2026-11-02)
  9. PetSafe — ScoopFree SmartSpin product page (checked 2026-11-02)
  10. PetSafe — ScoopFree SmartSpin Bundle (checked 2026-11-02)
  11. PetSafe — ScoopFree Crystal Smart product page (checked 2026-11-02)
  12. PetSafe — ScoopFree Fragrance-Free Crystal tray 3-pack (checked 2026-11-02)